0 Items
WOOCS 2.1.9

Select Page

The Band | Rock Of Ages | SACD


New Numbered Limited-Edition and Mini-LP Style Packaging in stock. Hybrid SACD.

In stock



The Last Waltz gets bigger billing, but the Band’s 1972 live album Rock of Ages is equally fine. Recorded over the course of four nights at New York’s Academy of Music at the end of December 1971, the incendiary concert set bookmarks the close of the first phase of the collective’s career.Rather than follow the lead of most other live records made at the time, The Band resist any temptation to improvise or extend its material. Instead, they play with an intensity, chemistry, and spirit that’s nearly unrivaled by any other live album. The quintet also draws on a secret weapon: Allen Toussaint, who tailors expert horn arrangements for several songs.Our hybrid SACD lets The Band’s feverish interplay shine like never before. Mastered from the original tapes, the open, airy, natural, and balanced sound will have you returning toRock of Ages again and again.

1. Introduction  
2. Don’t Do It  
3. King Harvest (Has Surely Come)  
4. Caledonia Mission  
5. Get Up Jake   
6. The W.S. Walcott Medicine Show   
7. Stage Fright  
8. The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down   
9. Across The Great Divide  
10. This Wheel’s On Fire   
11. Rag Mama Rag  
12. The Weight 
13. The Shape I’m In  
14. Unfaithful Servant 
15. Life Is A Carnival 
16. The Genetic Method 
17. Chest Fever  
18. (I Don’t Want To) Hang Up My Rock And Roll Shoes  

Reviews (0)


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Band | Rock Of Ages | SACD”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Ask a Question

Ask a question about this product

We'll get back to you as soon as possible.




Win a pair of Tellurium Q Black II Speaker Cables

Worth £324.00!

Subscribe to our newsletter for your chance to win a 3 Metre pair of Tellurium Q Black II Speaker Cables with your choice of terminations.

We will also give 10 lucky subscribers a Tellurium Q System Set Up CD worth £20!

Winners will be announced 01/09/17. GOOD LUCK!

You have successfully subscribed, GOOD LUCK!